Home

I completely forgot about the Royal Wedding.  Maybe it’s because I’ve been without a television for the last three months and missed all the hoopla.  Maybe it’s because I’ve been so busy at work and focused on my own day-to-day.  Maybe it’s because once you’ve seen one royal wedding you’ve seen them all.  Not to mention we’ve been down this aisle before, and with the House of Windsor, the aisle tends to lead to divorce.

Prince William’s aunt, uncle, and father aren’t sending him encouraging messages with their own failed marriages.  Princess Anne was divorced from Captain Mark Phillips in 1993.  Andrew, the Duke of York, was divorced from Sarah “Fergie” Ferguson in 1996.  And Prince Charles, the proud papa of today, divorced Diana in 1996 as well.  The only royal couples still married are Queen Elizabeth to Prince Phillip and Prince Edward to Sophie Rhys-Jones, but who is she again?

I’m an anglophile.  I love all things English.  I have taken several trips to the UK since 2007, but for some reason I have never really been a royals watcher.  Maybe it’s because my friends in the UK regard the monarchy not as a working institution but as a historical monument.  Maybe it’s because I have real work to do, work that focuses on resisting hierarchical systems.  Maybe it’s because I prefer to achieve realities in my own life rather than fantasise about someone else’s.

Needless to say I did not get up in the early hours of Friday morning to watch Will and Kate wed.  But if you did, I hope it was worth it.  And I hope the couple will not follow in the footsteps of their predecessors… oh wait, that’s exactly what they’re supposed to do, right?

Leave a Reply

