Home

I have decided to change the name of my blog to “Untying My Hands.”  As I’ve begun writing more about my observations and thoughts on the issues of the world, I’ve noticed that, although balanced in topics between my work and life, my blog doesn’t offer tips on finding a work-life balance, so the former title seems a bit misleading and unrepresentative of what I am actually saying here.

The new title is inspired by Lil Wayne’s song “Tie My Hands” which features the tragedy of Hurricane Katrina (2005).  Particularly influential in my decision are the following lines:

“We are at war with the universe, the sky is fallin’ / And the only thing that can save us now is sensitivity and compassion…

My shoulders are strong, I prove them wrong I ain’t doin’ nothin’ but movin’ on, let the truth be known / But they talk that freedom matters / And didn’t even leave a ladder, damn…

You tie my hands, what am I gonna be? / What have I done so bad? What is my destiny? / You tie my hands, what am I supposed to see? / What have I done so bad? What am I gonna be?” (Full Lyrics)

The song speaks of the societal oppression all around us, which I mean to challenge, resist, and break through with my writing.  The refrain is “You tie my hands, what am I going to be?… What is my destiny?” and I twist those lyrics by changing “You tie” to “[I am] untying,” an act or declaration that with each piece I write I untie my hands from whatever society tries to tie them down with and work toward social change and progress, thereby reminding us that we create our own destinies.  Let me know what you think.
Thank you to Alexandra L., a daily reader, who inspired the change.
2 thoughts on “New Blog Title: Untying My Hands

  1. I think it is awesome and inspiring and I’m so happy the song spoke to you, and I will continue to be a reader no matter what you will ever title your blog as I find it always interesting, thought provoking and inspiring as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

